20601A-WFNZ-the-fan-Final2 35h_CBSSportsRad_1660AM

Sports

Carolina Panthers 2012-13 NFL Schedule Offers Great Match-Ups

by Will Johnson
View Comments
NFL Schedule 2012 2013 Carolina Panthers

(Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images)

Panthers Central
Shop for Panthers Gear
Buy Panthers Tickets

NFL Scoreboard
NFL Standings
Team STATS
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

The NFL 2012 regular season schedule has been released, and the Carolina Panthers have some great games set up for the season to play.

Even though the Carolina Panthers ended their season last year with a 6-10 record, the team ended up with two prime-time games!  One being in the third week as they face the Super Bowl champs NY Giants at home here in Charlotte on Thursday Night NFL Network.  In November, Cam Newton and his team will play the Philadelphia Eagles in the City of Brotherly Love, which will be awesome to watch two great quarterbacks face off against each other on Monday Night Football (ESPN).

John Fox and his Broncos will be heading to Charlotte in early November to play his former team.  With another Manning on the team (being Peyton), this match-up is a can’t miss one to be at Bank of America Stadium.

What is surprising about the Carolina Panthers’ schedule this year is that they are playing their first 3 of 4 games against NFC South teams.  Therefore, the Panthers need to win those games early on if they want to try and win their division in order to make it in the Playoffs.

Ron Rivera will also be playing three former teams that he coached: Eagles, Bears, and Chargers.

And the Panthers (and die hard early morning tailgaters) don’t have to worry about playing almost all of their games at 1 PM this year.  Five of their scheduled games are in a later time slot.  The 2011 season gave them all except one game at the 1 PM time slot.

Week 1: Sunday, Sept. 9, at Tampa Bay, 4:15 PM
Week 2: Sunday, Sept. 16, New Orleans, 1:00 PM
Week 3: Thursday, Sept. 20, N.Y. Giants, 8:20 PM
Week 4: Sunday, Sept. 30, at Atlanta, 1:00 PM
Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 7, Seattle, 4:05 PM
Week 6: BYE
Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 21, Dallas, 1:00 PM
Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 28, at Chicago, 1:00 PM
Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 4, at Washington, 1:00 PM
Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 11, Denver, 1:00 PM
Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 18, Tampa Bay, 1:00 PM
Week 12: Monday, Nov. 26, at Philadelphia, 8:30 PM
Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 2, at Kansas City, 1:00 PM
Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 9, Atlanta, 1:00 PM
Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 16, at San Diego, 4:05 PM
Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 23, Oakland, 1:00 PM
Week 17: Sunday, Dec. 30, at New Orleans, 1:00 PM

Do you think the Panthers have a tough or weak schedule?  Does this schedule set them up to reach their goal and make the Playoffs?  Let us know in the Comment Section below!

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus